DC

One of our decisions, in the New Year, has been to give up soda during the week.  I’m notorious for drinking way too much Diet Coke and Larry recently admitted that he’s been consuming  2 to 3 Pepsi’s and/or Dr. Pepper’s a day, at work.  What!?  I’m not judgin’, I’m just sayin’!

So, the deal was that we each are allowed 3 soda’s per weekend, beginning with Friday night.  When Larry  first proposed the idea, I was like, “No Problem”.  And then, as January 1st kept creeping up, I was like, “No Way!”.  Nevertheless, I submitted (begrudgingly).

Well, I’m happy to report that it hasn’t been as difficult as I initially thought it would be.  At first, I found myself asking for permission to have a DC during the week, but Larry stood firm.  I sucked it up and decided that he really does have our best interest at heart and isn’t trying to deprive me of something I enjoy because of some weird sadistic motive.  Hmmm….sounds a lot like Jesus.  🙂

I know that giving up soda during the week seems a little trivial but , as with most things, I look at it as a sort of metaphor.  What are some other things that I think I need, in order to get through the day?  Maybe,  if I took that leap of faith and tried to go without, in some other areas, God would sustain me and help me to see that all I need is Him?!  And maybe it would be easier than I thought?!

But even if it wasn’t….the benefits, oh the benefits, of self-discipline.  It could be worry, selfishness or those cookies that are sitting in the break room.  Whatever it is, faith and discipline always trump carnal desires, when it comes to true satisfaction.

I’m not going to lie.  I just saw a Dr. Pepper ad on the web and realized that I had completely forgotten that it was the weekend and I can actually have a Diet Coke!  (Hence, the blog post.)  It’s a beautiful day, simply because I wasn’t looking forward to the Diet Coke and even forgot about it!  The fact that I can have one and enjoy it is just icing on the proverbial caffeinated, sweet and low enriched cake!  I think if Jesus were physically present, he would join me in my enthusiasm and crack open a Diet Coke with me.  I’m just sayin…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One response to “DC

Leave a comment